×
  • The Age of Enlightenment of Nikolay Novikov

Year of project creation: 2012

Nikolay Ivanovich Novikov (1744–1818) — journalist, public figure, well-known book publisher and publicist of the XVIII century, which made it possible for the Russian audience to get familiar with books “Gulliber’s Travels” by J. Swift, “Robinson Crusoe” by D. Defoe, “The enchanted belt” by J. J. Rousseau, “The instruction or military regulation of the Prussian king to his generals”  by Frederick II, “The natural son” by D. Diderot, and many others. The events, dedicated to life and creative work of Nikolay Novikov, one of the landmark figures in the Russian Enlightenment, were organized and held with support of Sobranie Fund. During October 15-17, 2012, the international scientific conference “Russia and Gnosis: The fate of religious and philosophical strivings of Nikolay Novikov and his peers” was held in the All-Russian State Library for Foreign Literature named after M.I. Rudomino in Moscow.

During the conference, ceremonial opening of bust of N.I. Novikov took place. The bust was donated by Sobranie Fund and Delfis Fund by 90th anniversary of VGBIL named after M.I. Rudomino. The bust was created by the Honoured Artist of Russia, member of council of Delfis Fund Ivan Korzhev. A year later, on March 8, 2013, the sculpture was passed to The Ritman Library Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica as part of the A curious Tsar: Peter the Great and Discovering Nature’s Secrets of Amsterdam exhibition. Beyond that, special publication of unique book “The Morning Light” by Nikolay Novikov was issued. This compilation includes archive materials and scientific comments, related to publishing and enlightening activities of Nikolay Novikov and his closest associates. In this book, the second issue of “The Morning Light” magazine was reproduced for the first time, and also the handwritten manuscript by D.I. Popov (1840), containing supplementary materials for biographies of N.I. Novikov and S.I. Gamaleya, was published. Also, this book contained the little-known writing by A. Blok “Bolotov and Novikov”.

Organizers of the project: Sobranie Fund, the All-Russian State Library for Foreign Literature named after M.I. Rudomino, Scientific and Educational Center “The Free Philosophical Society”, Delfis Fund, The Ritman Library Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica.

×
Год создания проекта: 2012

Николай Иванович Новиков (1744–1818) — журналист, общественный деятель, известный книгоиздатель и публицист XVIII века, благодаря которому русский читатель познакомился с произведениями «Путешествие Гулливера» Дж. Свифта, «Робинзон Крузо» Д. Дефо, «Обвороженный пояс» Ж.-Ж. Руссо, «Инструкция, или Воинское наставление короля прусского его генералитету» Фридриха II, «Побочный сын» Д. Дидро и многими другими. При поддержке Фонда «Собрание» были организованны и проведены мероприятия, посвященные жизни и творчеству Николая Новикова — одной из крупнейших фигур Русского Просвещения. С 15 по 17 октября 2012 г. в Москве в стенах Всероссийской государственной библиотеки иностранной литературы им. М. И. Рудомино состоялась международная научная конференция «Россия и Гнозис: Судьбы религиозно-философских исканий Николая Новикова и его круга». Во время конференции состоялось торжественное открытие бюста Н. И. Новикова, который был передан в дар фондами «Собрание» и «Дельфис» к 90-летию ВГБИЛ им. М. И. Рудомино.

Автор скульптуры — заслуженный художник России, член совета фонда «Дельфис» Иван Коржев. Годом позже, 8 марта 2013 г. скульптура была передана в The Ritman Library Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica в рамках выставки «A curious Tsar: Peter the Great and Discovering Nature’s Secrets of Amsterdam». Кроме того, было выпущено специальное издание уникальной книги «Утренний свет» Николая Новикова. В сборник вошли архивные материалы и научные комментарии, связанные с издательской и просветительской деятельностью Новикова и его ближайших сподвижников. В книге впервые воспроизведен второй выпуск журнала «Утренний свет» и опубликована рукопись Д. И. Попова (1840 г.) с материалами к биографии Н. И. Новикова и С. И. Гамалеи, также представлена малоизвестная работа А. Блока «Болотов и Новиков».

Организаторы проекта: Фонд «Собрание», Всероссийская государственная библиотека иностранной литературы им. М. И. Рудомино, Научно-просветительский центр «Вольное философское общество», Фонд «Дельфис», The Ritman Library Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica.