×
  • The First Stage of My Satka 2017 Festival Completed

The first stage of My Satka 2017, festival of urban space planning, was completed in Satka (the Chelyabinsk Region). Since opening May 21, the festival hosted architects, designers and street artists from Russia, Switzerland and Italy, as well as city campaigners and volunteers with active engagement of local school and college students.

- This year, the festival reaches a new level, - Egor Larichev, the festival supervisor, explained. - The festival became long-term, the facilities became much more impressive; it’s the first time we have real opportunity to discuss them with the authorities and city campaigners, to specify design solutions in advance.

This year, the festival facilities were concentrated on two sites – the bank of the city pond in the old part of the city and Ruina space that arose at the place of the demolished residential house near Magnezit Cultural Center. 

Both sites, as point of growth of urban environment design, were marked with wooden Sphinxes created in the workshop of the Satka’s carpenter, Tagir Abrarov, according to sketches of the Moscow architect Dima Baryudin. “A Sphinx that asks questions is a symbol of forthcoming changes”, – this is how the author, and also one of the festival visionaries, explains philosophical basis of his sculptural benches that city residents really liked.  

Then, a concrete dolmen, sub-base for the future work of Swiss designer Dmitry Baler, appeared on the bank. During a week, the author and volunteers were decorating the stele with coin-size mosaic made of dolomite and magnesite pieces. The result was a large abstract double-sided stone bed – a gradient or some kind of abstract dawn transiting from black into white through grey.

After the official opening, the abstraction turned into the public taxi bus stop and became useful for people.

In the embankment of the city pond, a group of Swiss designers from Lausanne, Adrienne Rovero and Christoff Fuad, in collaboration with masters of Satka’s MMC, created the composition from giant pots resembling ancient ironwork furnaces – the main attraction of the Satka’s neighbour, Mezhevoy. These furnace pots are the site to grow from for the trees chosen by the gentle hand of the festival botanist Vera Merker, CEO of the botanic garden of the Chelyabinsk State University, a great patriot of the Ural flora.

At the very same time, in Ruina site, the project of Moscow architect from KONTORA bureau Igor Aparin was deployed as a fully-fledged installation. An amphitheater created the last year got further development in the form of two gabion walls – transparent wirework filled with coarse rock. Floor of the new urban space was surfaces with wooden palettes; later, the space will be supplemented with tables for chess and other board games. According to the architect’s idea, this space is intended to be made habitable by urban residents. That is why Ruina opening was accompanied by two events at a time – the Neighbor’s Fair and the exhibition of the Swiss architect and photographer, An-Lor Le Sha that was excited to catch peculiarities of the local architecture in the monumental photo format. The Neighbor’s Fair held on the occasion of the neighbors’ day celebrated globally in the end of May promises to become Satka’s annual celebration attracting ever more active city residents.

Besides, during the first stage of the festival that, according to Pavel Baranov, deputy head of the Satka Region and the festival idea driver, was recognized as success, Satka hosted the research group of urban architects from Samara Institute of Architecture and Construction under the supervision of Sergey Malakhov and Evgenia Repina.This being their first visit to Satka, the architects known with their conceptual and research approach to urban environment found Satka to be a beautiful and unique South Urals city, where the past is as interesting as the present and the future.

Other Space graffiti festival became a separate part of My Satka; this year the festival reached the international level – the participants included Nevercrew, a group of artists from Switzerland (Christian Rebekkee and Pablo Tony), Italian masters of street art, Solo and Diamond, and masters of monumental abstraction, Petro and Slak (Aesthetics Group) – Petr Gerasimenko and Ilya Blinov – from Zhukovsky town in the Moscow Region. A giant bear entangled in a red ribbon – a monumental part of Nevercrew’s Stripping Car diptych (actually, the car itself was painted on the transformer vault in another part of the city) metaphorically urges the city residents to open their eyes at the reality around them going beyond the system that “packs” their views and paints their thoughts in certain colours. 

It is the second year that the urban development festival takes place in Satka with support of Sobranie Cultural Initiative Supporting & Preservation Fund and municipal government, as well as Pro Helvetia, Swiss Arts Council, and Istituto Italiano di Cultura in Moscow.

 

Photo by Alexandra Bogdanova and Sergey Poteryaev.

×
  • Завершился первый этап фестиваля "Моя Сатка 2017"

В Сатке, Челябинская область, завершился первый этап фестиваля городского обустройства «Моя Сатка-2017». С 21 мая, когда фестиваль был открыт, здесь приняли участие архитекторы, дизайнеры и стрит-арт художники из России, Швейцарии и Италии, а также городские активисты и волонтеры, при активном участии местных школьников, студентов колледжа и профессионально-технических училищ.

- В этом году фестиваль уверенно берет новую планку, - объяснил куратор фестиваля Егор Ларичев. - Фестиваль стал долгосрочным, объекты стали намного более внушительными, впервые появилась реальная возможность заранее обсудить их с властями и городскими активистами, уточнить проектные решения.

В этом году объекты фестиваля сконцентрировались на двух площадках - берегу городского пруда в старой части города и пространстве «Руина», возникшем на месте разрушенного жилого дома рядом с ДК «Магнезит». 

Обе площадки, как точки роста дизайна городской среды, маркировали деревянные «Сфинксы», созданные в мастерской саткинского столяра Тагира Абрарова по эскизам московского архитектора Димы Барьюдина. «Сфинкс, задающий вопросы - символ грядущих изменений», объяснил философскую подоплеку своих скульптурных скамеек, полюбившихся горожанам, автор, являющийся одним из идеологов фестиваля.  

Потом на берегу возник бетонный дольмен - подоснова для будущего объекта швейцарского дизайнера Димитрия Балера. В течение недели автор вместе с волонтерами украшали стелу мозаикой из кусочков доломита и магнезита размером в пяточек. В результате получилось объемное абстрактное двухстороннее каменное полотно - градиент или некий абстрактный рассвет, переходящий из черного в белый через серый.

После официального открытия абстракция превратилась в остановку для местного маршрутного такси и стала полезна горожанам.

Группа швейцарских дизайнеров из Лозанны Адриен Роверо и Кристоф Фуад в сотрудничестве с мастерами саткинской компании ММС создали на набережной городского пруда композицию из гигантских горшков, внешне напоминающих старинные железоделательные печи - главную аттракцию соседнего с Саткой Межевого. В горшках-печах растут деревья, подобранные трепетным ботаником фестиваля Верой Меркер - директором ботанического сада Челябинского государственного университета, большого патриота уральской флоры.

На площадке «Руина» тем временем разворачивался полномасштабной инсталляцией проект московского архитектора из бюро КОНТОРА Игоря Апарина. Амфитеатр, созданный в прошлом году, получил развитие в виде двух стен-габионов - прозрачной проволочной сетки, наполненной горной породой крупной фракции. Пол нового городского пространства замостили деревянными паллетами, впоследствии здесь появятся столы для игры в шахматы и других настольных игр. По замыслу архитектора, это пространство предназначено для обживания горожанами. Поэтому открытие «Руины» сопровождали сразу два события - «Соседская ярмарка» и выставка швейцарского архитектурного фотографа Ан-Лор Ле Ша, восторженно зафиксировавшей в монументальном фото-формате особенности локальной архитектуры. Соседская ярмарка, приуроченная к проходящему во всем мире в конце мая дню соседей, обещает стать ежегодным праздником в Сатке, притягивая все больше активных горожан.

Так же в рамках первой фазы фестиваля, признанного, по словам заместителя главы саткинского района Павла Баранова - его идейного вдохновителя, безусловно, успешным, Сатку посетила исследовательская группа архитекторов-урбанистов из Архитектурно-строительного института из Самары под руководством Сергея Малахова и Евгении Репиной. Архитекторы известные своим концептуальным и исследовательским подходом к городской среде, будучи в городе не впервые, нашли Сатку красивым и своеобычным южно-уральским городом, где прошлое не менее интересно, чем настоящее и будущее.

Отдельной частью «Моей Сатки» стал граффити фестиваль «Другое пространство», в этом году получивший не только международное развитие - в нем участвовали группа художников из Швейцарии  Nevercrew (Кристиан Ребекки и Пабло Тоньи), итальянские мастера уличного искусства Soloи Diamond, а также мастера монументальной абстракции из подмосковного Жуковского Petro и Slak (AestheticsGroup) - Петр Герасименко и Илья Блинов. Гигантский медведь, запутавшийся в красной ленте - монументальная часть диптиха Nevercrew «Обнажающая машина» (собственно, сама машина нарисована на трансформаторной будке в другой части города), метафорически призывает жителей раскрыть глаза на окружающую реальность, выйдя за рамки системы «упаковывающей» их взгляды и красящей их мысли в определенные тона. 

Фестиваль городского развития проходит в Сатке второй год при поддержке Фонда поддержки и сохранения культурных инициатив «Собрание» и городской администрации, а также швейцарского совета по культуре «Про Гельвеция» и Итальянского института культуры в Москве.

Фото Александры Богдановой и Сергея Потеряева.